Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

The Bottomless Pit!

Posted by DINRIL on February 12, 2007

Is it just me or are there days when Emily eats more than I do? Like all babies, she can be fussy and have times when she’ll hardly touch her food, but these are tempered with days when anything which isn’t nailed down is likely to be devoured.

Today, for example, she not only scoffed all her breakfast and ate every last scrap of her lunch, but she then proceeded to stare at the baked potato I was eating with a longing look on her face, and continued to stare until I gave her some of it (which she then proceeded to gobble up). Not content with that, she then polished off all of her dinner and continued to stare around with a hopeful look on her face even after it became apparent that her plate was empty.

Suffice to say, if she wakes up in the middle of the night claiming to be hungry, it’ll come as something of a surprise.

12 Responses to “The Bottomless Pit!”

  1. katharina said

    Ah, the joys of discovering all kinds of new foods… how wonderful! Maybe instead of waking up in the night, it will help her to sleep better.

  2. harleysneak said

    Oh yes, I know how that can go. My daughter definitely eats more than I do some days. I’ll make macaroni and cheese for lunch, give her less than I have and she’ll continue asking for more until she’s ate even more than I do! And she’s only 20 months!

  3. tater03 said

    When this would happen with my sons it never failed that a few weeks later they had out grown all their clothes. Eating everything in site usually preceeded a growth spurt.

  4. She slept through last night of course. I think after all that food she was probably too full to move! 🙂

  5. LyricB said

    I think my daughter was about her age when she started going nuts with food. I was amazed at how much food a little gal could eat!

  6. FourBear said

    Perhaps Emily is about to hit another growth-spurt stage! That, or she is honing her palate 😉

  7. katharina said

    That’s great to hear she slept well that night! Are you finding foods that she refuses to eat while she seems to enjoy others?

  8. LyricB said

    My son didn’t really start sleeping through the night until he started eating in earnest. Nothing like a full tummy to help a baby get sleepy!

  9. tater03 said

    I was so glad to see that she slept through the night for you though. Maybe this is a start.

  10. She’s been sleeping through for a while, but every so often something comes along to disrupt it (teething, colds, growth spurts, getting stuck in a position she can’t get out of). It did only become a regular thing once we started her on solids though – that seems to have made all the difference to her sleeping! 🙂

  11. Stephanie2377 said

    I am so happy to hear that Emily slept well! I am betting she is either going through, or is about to go through, a growth spurt with all of that eating. I know my son really could pack it away when he was about to really sprout. How fun that she loved your baked potato!

  12. tater03 said

    Yes, you are right about them sleeping through the night better once on solids. My oldest slept alot better once we started the cereal. Which to say I was very grateful for.

Leave a Reply

 
