Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

It’s Crawling….We Think

Posted by Caroline on January 9, 2007

I’m not going anywhere I shouldn’t Mummy, honest….It appears that the day we have been waiting for – the one in which Emily discovers crawling – has finally arrived. Well, sort of.

Yesterday evening, about an hour before bedtime, she was lying on her front on our bed, trying (as per usual), to reach something that she isn’t supposed to have (our phone, to be precise), when she suddenly propelled herself forward with her knees, sliding along on her tummy as she did so.

At first I couldn’t quite believe what I was seeing, or thought perhaps it was some kind of fluke, but then she did it again. At this point I called my husband in, and of course she immediately stopped what she was doing (I’ve lost count of the number of times she has done something terribly clever for me, only to then refuse to repeat it for other people).

To prove that this wasn’t some freak occurrence, I took her to see our next door neighbours, who provided the temptation of their TV remote control (another one of Emily’s favourite things) just out of her reach. And sure enough, she pushed herself forwards again in order to grab hold of it. And then did so once more.

So it appears that we have progressed to some form of crawling, albeit slowly and hesitantly – but given how quickly she has learned to turn herself round in circles, I’m sure it’ll only be a matter of time before she speeds up. And then the days of staying exactly where she is put will be just a distant fond memory.

11 Responses to “It’s Crawling….We Think”

  1. FourBear said

    Wow, sounds like Emily has perfected the tummy-shimmy crawl! A very important (and cute) milestone, indeed. What great news. Her obsession with your telephone did come in handy, after all! 🙂

  2. eldragon said

    How exciting! And that’s how it happens – a slight movement in your peripheral vision, when you least expect it! Yeah!

  3. LyricB said

    My daughter’s first crawling was on her changing table…I almost had a heart attack and of course I was by myself so my hubby didn’t get to see it.

  4. tater03 said

    That is just great that she is attempting to crawl. You’re right though, no more putting her in one place and expecting her to stay there.

  5. katharina said

    Yay Emily! You’ll need to keep that digital camera strap around your wrist at all times so your husband will get to see this wonderful time, too! 🙂

  6. FourBear said

    Hopefully daddy will get to see her crawling sometime soon. 🙂 Perhaps Emily will switch off on who gets to see what first…maybe dad will catch her walking!

  7. Melos said

    Woohoo! Soon she will be tearing around the house at break neck speeds and getting into everything. I hope you got all that baby proofing done. 🙂

  8. eldragon said

    Anyway, your life has certainly changed now. Emily can’t be left alone for a single second, not while you go answer the phone or whatever. She’s mobile!

  9. tater03 said

    You know I can remember when my son started crawling and I had to get down on my hands and knees so I was at his level so I could babyproof things. I could not believe all the things I had forgotten to baby proof until I did down on his level.

  10. katharina said

    I did that crawling around, too. It was more than a little shocking when I saw what my little girl would be seeing from that level and could have gotten into.

  11. Stephanie2377 said

    GO EMILY! Oh, this is so exciting! She has started the tummy shimmy hop sort of movement. I just love watching babies be so creative when it comes to getting from place to place. It won’t be long now before she is zipping all around like your home is her race course!

Leave a Reply

 
