Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

Circular Motion

Posted by DINRIL on December 27, 2006

I’m going nowhere fast……Over the past few days, Emily’s mobility has noticeably increased, and although she hasn’t quite mastered the art of getting from one side of the room to the other, she has discovered that moving herself round in circles is a fun alternative.

Yesterday morning, as per usual, I put her down on her playmat once she had finished breakfast. It was no surprise to me when she rolled on to her tummy within a few seconds, but I was rather taken aback to walk back in the room five minutes later and discover her facing the opposite wall to the one she had previously been facing. Another few minutes and she was the other way round, staring at the sofa. And all I could think was, “Just how did she do that?”

My mother later informed me that babies tend to have their own unique ways of getting around. My older brother, she says, used to move along on his tummy, while my other brother was more content to shuffle around on his bottom. I, meanwhile, favoured the hands and knees method of getting around.

She also told me, however, that Emily’s new-found abilities indicate that she is just a stone’s throw from crawling. And with that in mind, I am off to put everything in the apartment under lock and key.

13 Responses to “Circular Motion”

  1. katharina said

    How wonderful! Yes, it’s time to think about babyproofing. 🙂 I remember crawling around on the floor at baby level and I was stunned at things I saw that I wouldn’t have thought of before. Mostly that was things such as fun looking cords that had heavy things attached that babies can pull.

  2. Stephanie2377 said

    How fun that Emily is starting to move about! You are moving into a whole new stage with her. Exciting, but nervewracking all at the same time! My son actually pulled himself along on his belly for several months before actually hands/knees crawled. He just wasn’t interested! It will be fun to see how Emily decides she will get herself around.

  3. tater03 said

    Oh yes she should be crawling here pretty soon and then it is a whole new aspect of looking at the world to her. My son used to slide around on his butt all the time. I think he preferred that to crawling.

  4. eldragon said

    Does Emily sit up unassisted? Because sitting is the first thing, right? Or, is it rolling then sitting? Hmm. It’s amazing how fast these little details slip from the mind when you don’t think about them anymore! (Replaced with dance lessons and shoes sizes and Disney movie schedules!)

  5. FourBear said

    I bet she’s really tiring herself out with all that movement! Imagine how sleepy she’ll get after she learns to crawl. There’ll be no stopping her.

  6. Melanie said

    Yeah, as I remember it, sitting would come before crawling. Though the ‘army crawl’ on belly and elbows may come first. She sure sounds like an active little girl!

  7. FourBear said

    I would like to see some pictures of Emily in action when she begins sitting unassisted and crawling…I bet they would be adorable!

  8. tater03 said

    Yes, if I remember right sitting does come first. Now that is cute when they first start trying to sit unassisted and before you know it over they go.

  9. Melanie said

    That is very cute – Tater. Lots of opportunity for more of Emily’s cute surprised looks! Or they start out sitting upright until their back gets tired and they start leaning forward more and more till they are folded in half.

  10. katharina said

    I remember that folded-over look! I recall thinking that my daughter sometimes looked like one of those Weeble toys (or however it’s spelled) 🙂 “weebles wobble but they don’t fall down.”

  11. Eldragon – Emily can sit up unassisted for a short while (long enough to sit in her high chair) and can pull herself into a sitting position if she is propped up (at which point she does sometimes fall forward!). She hasn’t managed to pull herself up from lying down but she is trying to, so I guess it’s only a matter of time……

  12. i take dance lessons these days to become an expert in samba and rumba ”

  13. -‘; I am really thankful to this topic because it really gives useful information `”;

Leave a Reply

 
