Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

How Not To Roll

Posted by Caroline on December 20, 2006

I mentioned in a previous post that Emily has recently learned to roll on to her tummy, but still isn’t quite there when it comes to rolling back again (although she is making steady progress on that front). What I didn’t anticipate, however, was that she would enjoy her new-found skill so much that she would – quite literally – practise it at all hours of the day and night.

While she’s not a bad little sleeper, I’m now quite used to her waking up towards the morning and singing to herself in her cot – so it came as no surprise to me when at about 5.50am last Sunday I heard happy little noises coming from her room. All was well – until they were replaced, about five minutes later, by anguished sounding wails.

Naturally, I got up and went to investigate – only to find her lying on her tummy in the cot, looking round with a slightly bewildered expression on her face as if she was wondering what had happened. Since I had assumed that rolling over in a sleeping bag would be somewhat difficult, I think she had managed even to surprise herself.

Having calmed her down with a cuddle and a feed (whereupon she slept until nearly 8.45 – and no, I’m really not complaining about that), I couldn’t help but laugh at the predicament she had gotten herself into. Of course, it probably won’t be quite so funny when she starts doing it on a nightly basis at 2am, but we’ll worry about that when it happens.

13 Responses to “How Not To Roll”

  1. katharina said

    I’m sure it won’t be very long until she’s crawling back and forth in that cot wanting to get out! I’ll bet she has a puzzled look on her face when she can’t turn back around the way she started? I remember that look! 🙂

  2. Stephanie2377 said

    Sweet Emily! She is so excited about her new skill that she can’t stop practicing! Just wait until she is rolling in her sleep and then wakes up because she is on her belly. After a few nights of this, she should calm and be OK with sleeping on her belly. Each new skill often leads to sleep upset. But, how exciting that she is doing so well with it!

  3. FourBear said

    Aw, sounds like little Emily is giving herself quite the workout! I bet the look of surprise on her face was absolutely adorable. Next thing you know, she’ll be pulling herself to an upright position.

  4. tater03 said

    I bet she was stunned. Babies usually are when they first learn how to do this. The above poster is right you might have a few night of her waking up when she rolls over but it don’t take long before they get used to it and go back to sleep.

  5. Stephanie2377 said

    After waking due to rolling… you are usually fine until the baby learns to push into a sitting position. I can’t tell you how many times my son cried at night and I went in to find him sitting up, swaying from sleepiness, but seemingly unsure on how to lie himself back down. Again, it went away in a few nights. The next phase was pulling to stand.
    So much fun!!! I hope Emily’s nights are better now.

  6. FourBear said

    I bet it would be really cute if she rolled while listening to some music! Have you tried that yet? Something tells me she might get a kick from moving to music.

  7. Melanie said

    Well, to a little baby, rolling over might be as whoopsy-daisy as a roller coaster ride! I’d yell too if my world suddenly turned upside down! What a sweet little girl.

  8. LyricB said

    I agree with Melanie…it must be so weird to suddenly have your perspective change. I also agree that she’s a sweet baby! I love checking in to see the pictures!

  9. katharina said

    That’s what I do, too… check in for new pictures and to see the little super model’s latest poses. 🙂

  10. LyricB said

    I just love this age too…she’s really starting to ham it up for the camera, or at least she sure seems to.

  11. tater03 said

    I also love to look at the pictures. She sure loves the camera. It’s great when you can get them to ham up to the camera. My one son always seems to cry when getting his picture taken or he’s sick.

  12. Stephanie2377 said

    I have to chime in and say that I, too, love to check in so I can see new photos of Emily. She is so very photogenic! Her dark hair is so lovely and her eyes just sparkle. I can’t wait for some new entries on what Miss Emily is up to!

  13. FourBear said

    It’s great that you are taking so many photos of Emily. As an adult, I love looking back at my own baby photos of me with my parents. You’ll cherish moments like those caught on film forever!

Leave a Reply

 
