Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

Baby’s First Chanukah

Posted by DINRIL on December 15, 2006

Happy Chanukah!Being Jewish, we don’t get the chance to introduce Emily to the ‘magic’ of Christmas – but fortunately the festival of Chanukah also takes place in December, and that’s also a time for celebrations, parties and the exchanging of gifts.

However, Chanukah lasts for eight days, and I have been reminded by my mother that it is traditional to give loved ones presents on every day of the festival – meaning technically that I owe Emily eight presents.

We’ve gotten off to a good start on this front. While out shopping the other day we bought Emily a plush toy in the shape of a traditional Chanukah spinning top – or dreidel as it’s known. Although we didn’t actually give it to her until the first night of the festival, we allowed her a sneak preview of it the other day.

And she absolutely loved it, possibly to the exclusion of all her other toys. So much so that her little face lit up when she saw it, and when my husband took it away to remove the packaging she was rolling on to her side and frantically reaching out for it, as though it was being taken away for ever.

She forgot about it as soon as I took her into the other room and reminded her of the existence of Laugh n’Learn Puppy, but she was similarly enthusiastic when we finally gave it to her for good.

As for presents for the other seven days – well, I suppose I’d better get shopping.

9 Responses to “Baby’s First Chanukah”

  1. katharina said

    The first big holidays and festivals for babies are always so special! I’m glad to hear that she loved the stuffed dreidel.

  2. eldragon said

    Happy Chanukah! The holidays sound like a wonderful time for Emily.

  3. tater03 said

    Happy Chanukah. Yes, the first holidays are so special. May I ask where you found the plush dreidl? I have a very good friend that has a six month old and this would be awesome for them to get for Chanukah. Thanks

  4. Stephanie2377 said

    Happy Chanukah! What an exciting time to be celebrating with Emily. Do only parents buy presents for the 8 days? Or, do grandparent gifts count, too?
    I can’t wait to hear what you get for the other 7 days! 🙂

  5. FourBear said

    That is absolutely adorable. Can’t wait to hear about the other 7 gifts Emily has coming her way. Happy Chanukah! 🙂

  6. katharina said

    This brings up a question you may be able to answer. Why is it called Chanukah by some and Hanukkah by others? I’m sure Emily is enjoying all the festivities!

  7. tater03 said

    You know when I was writing the above comment I had to look at the spelling because I thought I was misspelling the holiday. Good question Katharina, hopefully someone knows the answer to this question.

  8. katharina said

    Yes, I’ve seen it both ways and although I’ve heard the answer to it in the past, I find that I’m not remembering the explanation.

  9. Stephanie2377 said

    There is no exact translation in English of the Hebrew word for Chanukah. Thus, many different spellings have popped up. Chanukah, Hannukah, Hanukkah, Hanukah, etc. They are all words for the same celebration, no matter how you spell it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
