Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

If The Shoe Fits…..

Posted by DINRIL on December 11, 2006

Am I the only person who, when putting shoes on their baby, has trouble working out which shoes go on which feet? I don’t have this problem with my own footwear, of course – but Emily’s little shoes have a tendency to baffle me.

For some reason, I always seem to be incapable of working out which is the left one and which is the right one – as it’s not as easy to tell with baby shoes as it is with adult ones.

However, it wasn’t until I was dressing her in a pair of pink shoes with velcro fastenings, only to realise that the fastenings appeared to be facing inwards instead of outwards, that it occurred to me I might have made a mistake matching shoes to feet. Even now, they confuse me, and occasionally I still put them on the wrong way round.

All of which leaves me wondering just how many times she might have been out for the day with wonky footwear. Perhaps next time it happens she might just like to point it out to me?

6 Responses to “If The Shoe Fits…..”

  1. Stephanie2377 said

    You are definitely not the only one! 🙂 I find myself putting the shoe along the bottom of his foot, to see if I have it right. It is nearly impossible to tell with infant footwear!
    Hey… maybe Emily will start a trend! We’ve had kids over here in the U.S. who insist on wearing some of their clothes inside-out (it’s ‘trendy’) So, Emily will start the trend for babies wearing the wrong shoe on each foot. It could happen! 🙂
    I am sure she still looked precious in those pink shoes!

  2. FourBear said

    I agree, it is soooo hard to figure out which way those tiny shoes are curving! Perhaps you could start an initiative to produce “sideless” baby shoes; that way, the shoes could go on either foot! Problem solved 🙂

  3. LyricB said

    Luckily my daughter was born in the winter so she just wore booties and then went barefoot most of that summer when she was learning to walk.

  4. katharina said

    Perhaps that’s why so many of those baby shoes *have* the fastenings… so we can tell that they’re on the correct feet when the fastening is on the outside. 🙂 It really wouldn’t be too much trouble for the manufacturers to imprint “right” and “left” on the bottom of the sole or inside of the shoe.

  5. Melanie said

    I always found it a lot easier to get the shoe on the right foot if I sat my baby down between my legs facing the same way as me and I did it over their shoulder, so to speak. That is a good point about the fastening on the outside!

  6. tater03 said

    I used to have this same problem. It does help if you have some when you have the velcro kind. But I even resorted to marking the with and “R” and “L” on the bottom. Just made it easier all around.

Leave a Reply

 
