Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

The First Day Back

Posted by DINRIL on December 6, 2006

Well, following all my thoughts about the return to work, the first day back in the office wasn’t nearly as scary as I thought it was going to be. In some ways it felt as though I’d never been away – in fact the hardest part was getting myself and Emily up, organised and out of the house so that I could be at my desk on time.

Since she decided she was going to have a lie-in until 7.30 this morning and I had to be at work at 9, it was down to me to crawl out of bed early and make myself look presentable before she got around to waking up.

Once she did finally surface I had to then give her breakfast (which I had already made up while stumbling half-asleep round the kitchen, convinced it was still night-time) while at the same time ensuring none of it got smeared across my work clothes, dress her, and then finish getting myself ready while collecting together everything she was likely to need for the day ahead.

When I was changing her this morning, I told her what was going to happen and where she was going, and she listened to me very intently, then threw me a look which said, “OK. Can I play with the nappy bin now?” (whereupon she did) It was at that point I figured she would probably be OK.

And indeed she was – and so was I. I was welcomed back by colleagues, discovered that little had changed in my absence and that I still knew how to do my work, while Emily had a lovely time at my mother-in-law’s and was all smiles when she got home – and as far as I can tell, hadn’t even noticed my absence.

All of which confirms my theory that it’s much harder for mothers returning to work than it is for the babies they leave behind.

8 Responses to “The First Day Back”

  1. Stephanie2377 said

    You did it! Oh, I am so glad that the first day back went well. Sounds like you had everything planned out perfectly. I am so happy that Emily enjoyed her time with your MIL. I definitely think returning to work is more stressful on mommies. I found I was putting my own emotion and upset onto my son. The more sad I was… the more sad I imagined he would be. Turns out, he had a blast away from me! I hope the rest of this first week goes well for both of you.

  2. FourBear said

    Well, it certainly sounds like you already have your morning multi-tasking routine worked out pretty well! I’m glad that your new schedule has turned out well for you, as well as Emily. I’m sure that will continue to be the case in the future as well.

  3. LyricB said

    I’m quite jealous that you have someone who loves her incredibly AND is willing to watch her during the day. You should consider yourself lucky.

  4. katharina said

    I’m so glad to hear that you had a good first day back! And I’m sure that it was a huge relief that Emily had a great day with her Grandmother.

  5. tater03 said

    I am so glad that your first day back to work went so well. I would agree with you it is great when everything in the morning falls into place. Also you are so right that it is hardest on the Mommies and the child seems to have no clue and is fine.

  6. Melanie said

    I hope things continue to go just as smoothly for you and Emily. SOunds like a stress-reduced (I won’t say stress free!) way to ease back into the working life.

  7. katharina said

    Now that you’ve been back to work for two weeks, were the other days as pleasant for Emily with her Grandmother as this first day was?

  8. eldragon said

    I remember that feeling of returning to work with an infant at home. I only continued working outside of the home until my baby was 2 years old, then decided to try something from home. She’s 9 now, and I’m ready to start full time outside again.

Leave a Reply

 
