Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

Keeping In Tune

Posted by Caroline on December 4, 2006

Time for my guitar solo, Daddy…..!While many parents sing nursery rhymes to their child to give them their first experience of music, we’ve opted for more up to date musical fare to keep Emily entertained.

True, our repertoire does include a few nursery tunes but generally we’re happy to leave the Hickory Dickory Docks and Nellie The Elephants of this world to the doting grandmothers, and instead introduce Emily to the music that we ourselves enjoy.

This evening, in the hour before bedtime, my husband decided to show her a selection of pop videos on Youtube, including offerings from girl group Shampoo and indie rockers Hard-Fi (a band I have a soft spot for since they come from my home town).

And Emily was transfixed – to the extent that she actually started squealing and waving her arms along to the music. My husband even taught her how to play air guitar and play imaginary drums.

So it seems that perhaps my daughter will be brought up on a diet of contemporary music after all, despite the best efforts of elder relatives to enthrall her with more traditional fare. Given that her parents tend to like their music loud though, perhaps she’ll be the one telling us to turn it down in years to come.

7 Responses to “Keeping In Tune”

  1. eldragon said

    I sat down on viewed hours of videos on youtube a few weeks ago, with my 9 year old daughter. I especially loved Men At Work videos. I loved them so much I went right out and bought a new cd!

  2. katharina said

    This is so sweet… air guitar, huh?! 🙂 My machine isn’t fast enough for youtube… well, I can load things and then watch but it takes a long time to load fully. Anyhow, glad to hear that Emily likes the contemporary music and is already learning the ways of the computer!

  3. Melanie said

    I can’t do that either – but what a neat way to introduce Emily to music. It sounds like a much more interactive experience than just an off-key rendition of Mary Had a Little Lamb.

  4. tater03 said

    I used to turn on the music channel here on TV and my son would be enthralled with the music and the images on the screen. He now enjoys any type of music.

  5. Stephanie2377 said

    Sounds like Emily has quite the musical pallette for one so young! I think it is great that you are exposing her to a musical variety. I have read time and time again that exposing children to all types of music at a young age really enhances their brain development and opens their appreciation for music in the years to come! How fun that Emily seems to love what you and your husband love!

  6. FourBear said

    What a lucky daughter! I’m glad she’s getting some exposure to some contemporary music. It really will shape the type of music she likes in the future; thanks to my parents, I am infatuated with the Beatles and Jethro Tull! It’s great that all three of you have found something you can enjoy together. Hopefully you can snap of photo of her playing air drums or air guitar, that would be adorable.

  7. AliG said

    I’m definitely one to spurn the traditional nursery rhymes in favour of something more modern – usually because I can’t remember the tunes any more. So far, our littl’un has been lulled to sleep by off-key renditions of Hey Big Spender, Goldfinger and Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend (show tunes really seem to work), Roll With It (Oasis), I’m Only Happy When it Rains (Garbage) and Riders on the Storm (The Doors – that one courtesy of her dad).

    If none of those work, I tend to resort to One Man Went to Mow. Yes, it’s phenomenally dull (and someone told me the other day that it’s also got something to do with Chelsea FC but I’ll overlook that for now), but my word it works. She’s usually asleep by seven men…

Leave a Reply

 
