Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

These Are A Few Of My Favourite Things….

Posted by Caroline on November 24, 2006

I love my playmat…..Hello, this is Emily. Mummy fancied the night off, so she said I could write tonight’s blog entry because I am so very clever. I’m not sure how to use the keyboard, but I’ve sat on Mummy’s lap and watched her using it, so I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it very quickly.

I thought I’d tell you about some of the things I like best. They are as follows:

Rolling. Last week I worked out how to roll from my back on to my front. I enjoy it very much, although I only do it sometimes, however much Mummy tries to encourage me to practise. Sometimes she looks at me and makes a gesture with her fingers which is supposed to mean ‘roll over’ but I ignore her. What am I, a puppy?

Banana. Sometimes Mummy mashes one of these and gives it to me for dinner. I wasn’t sure what it was the first time but now I like it very much. I like carrots too, although I don’t think they’d go very well with banana. Perhaps I could persuade Mummy to try it.

Knees. I recently discovered that I have two of these. I’m not sure what they’re for but they’re very interesting and I think they’ll come in very handy.

Playmat. Mummy puts me down on this every morning and leaves me there with my toys, and I play for a long time. Sometimes Mummy tries to join in with me and I have to set her straight. Normally I just look at her as if to say, “Mother, what are you doing? Can’t you see I’m busy?” and that’s enough to send her packing.

Laugh n’Learn Puppy. When he first came to live with us I wasn’t sure what he was for, but now I like him very much. I particularly like leaning on his paw as it plays songs – in fact, if I lean on it all the time it plays each song for five seconds and then moves on to the next one. Mummy doesn’t find this in the least bit distracting.

The Supermarket. I like sitting in the trolley and looking at all the things on the shelves. The baby food aisle is my favourite, and the other week I reached out and tried to grab something off one of the shelves. Mummy says I am very advanced for my age as most babies don’t try that until they’re a lot older.

Mummy and Daddy. Well, that goes without saying.

9 Responses to “These Are A Few Of My Favourite Things….”

  1. katharina said

    Hello Emily! You mastered the keyboard, how very clever! I enjoyed your list of favorites. I think if you bat those beautiful eyelashes at your Mum, she may let you try carrots and bananas together! Be prepared, though, because she’ll be scrunching up her nose while looking at it. 🙂

  2. Eldragon said

    And just wait until you are 6 months old and learn how to sit up – and then when you are 9 months old you’ll start to stand – and at about 10/12 months – you’ll start walking and never look back at your knees again!

    (Until you are in your late thirties, and think they look fat……)

  3. tater03 said

    Hey mommy let her have the mashed carrots and bananas. Boy she is hitting those milestones. She is just to cute. You have a great day. I have to run.

  4. Melanie said

    Awww… sweet Emily learned to type! She is very advanced for her age! How cute that she’s discovered her knees.

  5. Starlily said

    Hi Emily! You are really advanced for your age! I was wondering when you would master the keyboard… Your laugh & learn puppy sounds like great fun!

  6. katharina said

    Just checking back to see if the little lady has had the “pleasure” of trying carrot and banana casserole yet. 🙂

  7. Er, no……still looking for a good recipe! 🙂

  8. katharina said

    🙂 Two parts banana to one part carrots if the young lady has a sweet tooth like my own!

  9. Stephanie2377 said

    Well, look at you Miss Emily! You learned how to send a post to Mommy’s blog! What a smart baby girl… 🙂
    My little boy used to love spoonfuls of peaches and peas together. Yuck! But, he thought “Yum”…
    I am glad you discovered your knees and are having such a good time on your playmat. Let Mommy play with you every once in a while. It will help her feel better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
