Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

Giving Bootees The Boot!

Posted by DINRIL on November 18, 2006

I’ve never been a bootee girl….Although we found a use for most of the things that we bought, or were bought, for Emily, there are some that have sat unused at the back of the cupboard for the past five months. We never really got to grips with the baby sling, for example, and some of the clothing we received was a tad redundant, given she was born in the middle of a heatwave.

Most notably though, she has never – or hardly ever – worn bootees. And I don’t think she ever will now. We have a few pairs – including one we bought ourselves as part of her going-home outfit from the hospital – and some which were given to us as a present – yet somehow we never got around to using them.

For the first few weeks of her life she wore either sleepsuits or bodysuits as it was all that fit her, and given the warm weather she had a tendency to stay barefoot. Once she started wearing proper little outfits I skipped bootees in favour of socks instead.

The one time she did venture out in public wearing them – a cute little lemon pair with tiny bows on them – they stayed on her feet for approximately half an hour before they fell off. I eventually removed them altogether and put them into the pocket of my jeans, where they stayed until I washed that pair and found them.

Now she wears little shoes instead, and I don’t think I’ll be swapping them for bootees any time soon. They just don’t seem to suit her personality – and besides, I always tend to associate bootees with little newborns. Yes, much as I hate to say it, I think she is actually too old for them.

Amazing to think that at the age of five months my little girl is already too old for something (other than size one newborn nappies and 2-4 months clothing), but it’s true. I guess it’ll only be a matter of time before I buy her proper shoes for walking in, and then I’ll start getting nostalgic for the cute little ones she is currently wearing.

5 Responses to “Giving Bootees The Boot!”

  1. tater03 said

    I know they seem to grow up so fast. I would agree with you on the booties. I tried them for a little while but they just never seemed to stay on. I was forever retracing my steps looking for the missing one that had fallen off. Eventually I just quit using them altogether too.

  2. Eldragon said

    Booties come off too easily, don’t they? I also bought a sling to carry my baby in, but didn’t use it much. It was too uncomfortable and I couldn’t imagine myself being encumbered like that.

  3. Melanie said

    Aww… I never really used bootie either – I was more in favor of knee socks. They had less of a chance of falling off. I never bought shoes for my littles until they could walk either.

  4. katharina said

    When mama and baby came home from the hospital, area businesses always gave gifts. I remember getting a certificate for a pair of baby shoes and I never did use them. I didn’t use shoes at all before she was walking. I could have used a bag of diapers/nappies a lot more than those free shoes! 🙂

  5. Starlily said

    I agree, booties are more of an adornment than a necessity…I remember buying the sweetest pair of sunglasses, only to have baby drop them somewhere on a long walk…With the hood up on the stroller I somehow missed it…I spent about 45 minutes retracing my steps, but never found them…memories…:)

Leave a Reply

 
