Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

Taking Time Out

Posted by DINRIL on November 4, 2006

Mother, how many more times do I have to tell you? I will be FINE…..Tonight I am having my first significantly late night out since I had Emily in June. There have been a couple of others – a trip to a film screening and a friend’s wedding back in August – but both of those were relatively early nights (and in the case of the film screening we were home early enough to put Emily to bed).

On this occasion, however, I’m going to a concert on the other side of London and am unlikely to be home much before midnight. And even though it won’t be the first time I’ve been away from my little girl for a few hours, I still have a certain sense of trepidation regarding my impending absence.

Quite why, I have no idea, since Emily will be very well looked after by her daddy and grandmother, and will most likely be tucked up in bed sound asleep by the time I get home.

In the back of my mind though, I’m paranoid about whether she’ll notice that someone else is giving her her bedtime feed, and whether she’ll fall asleep as usual or if she’ll demand the return of Mummy and I’ll find myself hot-footing it back across the capital before a note has even been played.

When I do go out and leave her in the capable hands of other grown-ups I’m always calling to check she’s OK – even a simple afternoon trip to the cinema the other week saw me ringing just 15 minutes after I’d left home to ask after her welfare (she was of course fine, but at least it put my mind at rest). I’ll probably call tonight before the first band has even taken to the stage, and it’s unlikely I’ll truly relax and enjoy myself until I know she’s nodded off.

Yet at the end of the day, Emily probably won’t bat an eyelid – chances are that as long as she gets her bath, her milk, her bedtime songs and her comfy grobag she’ll be perfectly content. So in hindsight I should just stop worrying and just have some fun – especially since I’ve wanted to see this particular band for ages and missed their last tour due to the inconvenience of having a seven-months-pregnant bump.

I can only assume that what I’m feeling is the inevitable mother’s guilt – and with my return to work looming, to say nothing of the Christmas party season coming up, I have plenty more of it to come.

8 Responses to “Taking Time Out”

  1. tater03 said

    I completely understand where you are coming from but please go and have a great time. You deserve some time to yourself. I hope you have a great night.

  2. katharina said

    It is absolutely 100% normal and I remember going through it each time someone else was watching over my little girl. There’s nothing we can do about it. 🙂

    I’ll tell you how I always thought of it, maybe it will help… I always realized that I’d much rather be this way than to be constantly leaving her with others to watch every time I wanted to go somewhere at night. It worked and the guilt started to lessen.

    I hope your concert was *fabulous!*

  3. Thanks for your comments. I had a fabulous time and Emily was a very good girl and was fast asleep when I got home – and stayed that way until the morning, exactly as she’s done for the past seven nights……:-)

  4. Eldragon said

    This sounds so familiar! When my daughter (age 9 now) was 6 months old, my husband and I got tickets to Prince in concert. If I remember correctly, we actually had Nina spend the night at her uncles house, with her doting grandmother there. (The one who watched her everyday after I went back to work.) This was supposed to be a night out for my husband and I – a time to relax and enjoy each other and some breathing room. NOPE! I barely stayed awake during the concert, and in fact, we left early. We went home, depressed by the silent house that awaited us and went right to bed, anxiously awaiting morning so we could go get our baby.

  5. tater03 said

    I was glad to come back and see you posted you had a good time. I bet in the end it was nice to just get out for a few hours and everything turned out great in the end. So glad you enjoyed yourself!!

  6. Melanie said

    Oh gosh, I remember those days! It’s so hard to have a good time when you’re calling the babysitter every half hour for a status report. I think it must have something to do with the fact that we don’t want to think our baby can be happy with anyone else! Well, not really…

  7. katharina said

    I’m so glad to hear that you had a good time at the concert! It may make it easier for next time, or it may not have made a difference at all 🙂 but at least you know it can indeed be done now.

  8. Starlily said

    This sounds familiar… I remember one of hubby & my first night’s out after baby was a concert as well, and we somehow kept each other from phoning the sitter every hour or so 🙂 Glad everything worked out for you and you had fun!

Leave a Reply

 
