Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

Travels With My Pushchair

Posted by Caroline on November 1, 2006

At least I don’t have to walk….Before I became pregnant, I was a bit of a fitness fan – aside from sessions at the gym, I tried my hand at badminton, tennis, modern dance, tap dance – you name it, I gave it a go. As such, I was determined not to turn into one of these mothers who says things along the lines of, “Well, I get all the exercise I need running after this little one…..”

That said, Emily is nearly five months old now and I haven’t been back to the gym since long before she was born – partly because I’m worried about the effect strenuous exercise may have on my still healing Caesarean scar, partly because – well, it seems that there’s a certain amount of truth in the suggestion that your baby keeps you fit.

In my case, however, it’s my walks out with the buggy that seem to do the job. Since we don’t live near any parks or other areas of natural beauty, when I take Emily out for a walk (as I often do on days when my husband goes into his office and I’m home alone with her), it’s either to one end of the road or the other.

And just to add to the excitement, one end features a train station, a convenience store, a hotel and a bus stop, and the other boasts a street of shops, all of which seem to be either newsagents or kebab takeaways.

It’s hardly inspiring stuff, that’s for sure. But it doesn’t really matter where we go, since Emily is very comfortable in the pushchair (more often than not she conks out mid-walk) and it’s surprisingly good exercise for me, since I had underestimated just how strenuous it is to walk a couple of miles while pushing a heavy buggy with a 15 and a half pound baby inside it. Even more so when you consider that the walk to the shops passes over several steep hills – which I paid scant attention to the first time I made my expedition, leaving me wondering why I was huffing and puffing quite so heavily.

Even in cold weather – as we’re having at the moment – I’m guaranteed to return home as red-faced and sweating as I would be after a good session on the treadmill. Which means I now have a bona fide excuse to stop off at all those newsagents for chocolate.

3 Responses to “Travels With My Pushchair”

  1. katharina said

    Best form of workout there is! And it will continue after she’s out of the pushchair because then your workout will come chasing after a toddler. 🙂 After that you’ll be running her to school functions and lessons, etc.

    And chocolate? Well that’s *always* a good idea! 😀

  2. tater03 said

    I love to take walks, so I found it great that I could load the baby up in the stroller and take a walk with him. Like you said they enjoy it so much and you’re getting great exercise at the same time.

  3. Melanie said

    Kids are great exercise equiptment 🙂 I had two under two in a double stroller – nearly killed myself taking walks and pushing that thing, but I regained my pre-pregnancy fitness quickly!

Leave a Reply

 
