Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

Laughter Lines

Posted by DINRIL on October 31, 2006

What’s so funny……?I’ve spoken before about ways to try and entertain your baby, but I find these have been upped a notch ever since Emily learned how to laugh. Our little girl first started showing hints of a giggle a few weeks ago but it wasn’t until last week that this turned into a full-blown laugh – and it was lovely to hear. She has a very infectious little chuckle which generally sends us into hysterics also.

Now, though, we find ourselves going to increasingly outlandish lengths to try and get a laugh out of her – whether it’s making up songs for every activity (even something as mundane as a nappy change), putting on some music or just bouncing her up and down on our lap.

The latter has proven especially popular – I tried it yesterday while singing a medley of tunes from The Sound Of Music (inspired by the fact that Dame Julie Andrews was on TV at the time) and I got a full-blown result. Emily thought this was incredibly funny – not sure if it was the bouncing or the singing that was so amusing to her – and laughed out loud for the duration.

Trouble is, of course, she wants us to play that game all the time now. And as she becomes more advanced, our back catalogue of specially made up ‘songs for Emily’ don’t seem to illicit the same smiles that they once did. We’re clearly going to have to think of something a bit more sophisticated to amuse our daughter. Perhaps some extracts from Shakespeare comedies might do the trick?

4 Responses to “Laughter Lines”

  1. katharina said

    Are you tape recording those laughs and cooing sessions? I have a cassette tape like that and it’s always been a treasured heirloom. (Those micro cassette recorders work great for a pocket). Actually I really need to have it transferred to CD and I keep forgetting about it. 😦 Hopefully this will tend to remind me to get it done.

  2. tater03 said

    I wish I would have taped our sons laugh. I can remember it like it was yesterday but I sure would love to be able to hear it again. I think that’s a very good idea. You guys have a great day.

  3. Eldragon said

    I think she just enjoys the eye contact you make with her, and of course, your smiles. Keep it up and she’ll be as happy as a clam.

  4. Melanie said

    Tape yourself singing and let her listen to them to entertain herself. 🙂 I see future visions of “Mom, I’m bored!”

    Really, enjoy those smiles. So precious!

Leave a Reply

 
