Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

Spreading The Word

Posted by Caroline on October 28, 2006

Just after I was born…..Since Emily is nearly five months old, I’ve reached the stage where I assume the news of our baby daughter has pretty much reached all of our relatives, friends and acquaintances. Yet I still come across people who are unaware of our new (or now not so new arrival) on an almost weekly basis.

In fact, due to the wonders of modern communication, news of Emily’s birth had spread around the world within minutes of the event. Since she was born by elective Caesarean – which I was advised to have after discovering she was breech and not about to turn round in a hurry – all of our friends and family knew when she was going to be born and were waiting by phones, mobiles and email accounts on the big day (June 7) for the big announcement.

I was even sending text messages to my friends within minutes of leaving the operating theatre, while all manner of drips and wires protruded from various body parts and my newborn daughter had her first feed. Quite how I managed it, I have no idea.

Even now, though, there are still people who I’ve neglected to tell about our new-found parenthood. I’m always coming across emails from old friends and other contacts who have yet to be enlightened, and just this evening I spoke to the secretary of a society I belong to, explaining that my non-attendance at recent meetings was due to the appearance of my daughter.

It’s at times like this of course, that you realise just how many people you know, or at least have contact with. At the rate I’m going, I’ll still be telling people that I’ve had a baby daughter when she celebrates her 18th birthday.

4 Responses to “Spreading The Word”

  1. katharina said

    Very true! 🙂 I remember that happening with us, too. It’s just impossible to tell everyone at first because like you said, you just don’t comprehend how many people you know until they start popping up months or even years later!

  2. Melanie said

    I called my dad first after having my son, and told him to spread the news. He called my mom and that was as far as it went for 2 days. 🙂 My husband even forgot to tell his parents! I suppose my family is just rather doofus-y.

  3. tater03 said

    It is kind of funny that you always seem to run into that one person who doesn’t know. I know I thought everyone should know by now. How could they not was how I looked at it.

  4. Eldragon said

    It’s unbelievable all the ways we communicate with friends and family now. Even a decade ago, we all had hundred dollar phone bills when we called long distance. Now, everyone has free long distance, free email and text messaging. It’s amazing. There is no excuse for not keeping in touch now!

Leave a Reply

 
