Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

The Early Shift

Posted by Caroline on October 26, 2006

While Emily has recently started sleeping through the night on a semi-regular basis, she has also taken to waking up much earlier as a result – the days when she would wake at 4am for a feed and then sleep through until 8am have lately been looking like a distant memory.

Of course, having a human alarm clock in the next room may well come in handy when I come to return to work, but since I’m currently enjoying my last few weeks of maternity leave – to say nothing of the fact that the approaching winter means it’s dark first thing in the morning – being dragged up at such an early hour can be quite a challenge. Especially when you’re more of a nocturnal person and mornings seem impossible without a hefty infusion of caffeine.

This morning, I was woken at precisely 6.01 by the sounds of ‘singing’ from her cot – which did make me smile, admittedly, since I’ve never heard her do that before. The prospect of such an early start though, wasn’t quite so enticing.

So I figured that since she is generally quite happy to play in her cot for a while, if I got up, fed her and put her back, she might at least lie there and play for a bit longer, thus meaning I could snatch another precious few minutes of shut-eye. So I did just that, and retired back to my own bed – only for it to suddenly go very quiet in her room. When I popped back to check on her, she was fast asleep once again. And she stayed that way until nearly 9.15.

All of which beggars the question: why didn’t I think of that days ago when she first turned into an early riser?

5 Responses to “The Early Shift”

  1. katharina said

    Wow, that little girl certainly knows how to plan a day! She just got hungry, that’s all! 🙂 It sounds like she’s doing absolutely great with the sleeping patterns!

  2. eldragon said

    Nothing brings a smile to new parents face faster then hearing that baby cooing in from her crib in the morning. Even though you want to sleep longer, how can you ignore the cuteness?

  3. Melanie said

    You do seem wonderfully blessed with little Emily’s ability to sleep! Hopefully staying in bed till 9:00am didn’t disrupt her nap or sleeptime schedule later!

  4. tater03 said

    That is great that she went back to sleep for you. I am like you in the sense that I love to stay up late. My problem is though that once I get up I have trouble going back to sleep,no matter how late I was up the night before.

  5. katharina said

    I’m the opposite and like to get to bed as early as I can. But it evens out in the end because I have to get up early in the morning, too. I’m usually yawning when other people are just beginning their evening. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
