Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

Puppy Power

Posted by Caroline on October 23, 2006

Scary? Me?Once again, my husband has returned home from work with a new toy for Emily. This time it’s the Fisher Price Laugh N’Learn Puppy, which he picked up for a bargain price (£8.99 plus VAT) in Costco – definitely worth it when you consider that most retailers are selling it for around £20 or more.

The Laugh N’Learn Puppy bears some similarities to Baby Tad, in that it sings songs, spouts phrases, and features lots of buttons to press. The aim is to teach your little one about numbers, letters, body parts and colours – and in this respect it’s rather good. Emily certainly seemed to take to it, having a good nibble on one of its floppy ears and leaning on its hand so that it sang roughly five seconds of each song before moving rapidly on to the next one.

Like Baby Tad though, I greeted its arrival with a certain degree of trepidation, since it has the same kind of jolly, open-mouthed grinning face that treads a fine line between cute and ever so slightly evil-looking. But following closer inspection, I’ve decided it’s considerably less scary – and since it seems to have a lot more in the way of sounds and music to play with, it’s probably slightly better. At least I’m not worried that I’ll find it brandishing a bread knife in my bedroom at 2am.

However, Tad is unlikely to be pleased to discover that he has a rival for Emily’s affections, since the two seem to have bonded so well in recent weeks. Perhaps when I go into her room tomorrow morning to get her up, I’ll find the frog and the dog rolling around fighting on the floor?

5 Responses to “Puppy Power”

  1. tater03 said

    We had something like this but it kinda looked like a clown. My son loved it but I thought it was creepy looking. But I guess aslong as they enjoy it that is all that matters in the end.

  2. katharina said

    Great post, it made me smile. That’s a cute toy, and a fantastic price! You also brought back a memory. I had bought an “evil” toy for my daughter when she was about 2. It was supposed to be motion activated but the creepy thing started “screaming” it’s noises when there was no movement. In the daytime it wasn’t so bad, but to hear it in the night just creeped me out too badly and I pitched it. Didn’t matter what I paid for it (pretty much if I recall) 🙂 I didn’t like it! Probably just had bad wiring but I don’t care! 🙂

  3. Melanie said

    By Tad, I’m thinking you mean the little Leap Frog guy, right? We had one of those, and he never attempted any violence. 🙂 So… unless yours is the evil twin, Puppy is probably safe.

  4. Eldragon said

    Just wait until Emily gets a little older and becomes attached to Barney, or Spongebob! My little one loved Telly Tubbies for a few months, then she saw Barney and was hooked for about 2 years! Then it was onto Scooby Doo …then Edward Scissorhands (yes,) and at age 9, she’s into American Girl Dolls.

  5. Stephanie2377 said

    I am so happy that Emily is enjoying her Puppy!! I never got one for my son, but wished I had. I know so many children who just *loved* their puppies. I am sure Tad has learned to adjust by now… he has to learn to share! My son is in love with Elmo and all of the Wiggles. So, Emily’s love affair with characters has just begun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
