Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

In praise of the grobag….

Posted by Caroline on October 19, 2006

I love my Grobag….Of all the things that we bought for Emily, possibly the most useful has proved to be the selection of grobags that she sleeps in at night. Since she was born in the middle of a heatwave, we were unable to use these for the first few weeks of her life, sticking instead to good old sheets and the odd blanket – only for our wriggly little girl to kick them off within about 10 minutes of them being put on (and waking up cold as a result).

My attempts at swaddling her were similarly ineffectual – the midwives in the hospital (where I spent four days after my Caesarean) would swaddle her tightly to perfection within about five seconds, sending her into a peaceful slumber, yet when I tried it it would be all of two and a half minutes before a pair of little arms found their way out of my loosely-wrapped, chaotic blanket arrangement – and the legs weren’t far behind.

So when she was about five weeks old, I decided the time was right to dig out the grobag – a blue and white stripey number with a nautical theme (bought before we knew whether we were having a boy or a girl, you understand), and popped her in it one night. It was huge on her, but it was also very cosy – and that night, to our amazement, she slept for a full six hours before waking for a feed (which at that stage was the longest she had ever gone).

However, given that a grobag is also the name of a product used in gardening, my declaration that Emily was sleeping in one was met with raised eyebrows and confusion from my childless friends. “She’s sleeping in a what? Are you trying to get her to grow quickly or something?” was a standard reaction, as though I was planning to put her in the bag, water her and put her in a greenhouse overnight.

But in truth the grobag is a marvellous invention – Emily now has several (including some pink ones) and not only does she look very cute in them but they’re virtually impossible to kick off, meaning that she stays warm all night. It’s just a shame that no-one does them in grown-up sizes, as I wouldn’t mind one myself.

6 Responses to “In praise of the grobag….”

  1. sbarber77 said

    I’m going to have to look for some of these grow bags. I live in Canada where it gets quite cold in the winter time ad my daughter refuses to keep blankets on herself at night. She wakes up with ice pops for fingers.

  2. Eldragon said

    I have never heard of a grow bag. I have to admit that I have wanted to invent something like that, though!

  3. Melanie said

    It’s like a sleeping bag for a wee one! What a great idea. I used fleecy buntings for my boys when they were little. More of a grobag that they’d wear. Blankets are impossible, and I could never get the hang of those baby burittos either (swaddling).

  4. katharina said

    I wouldn’t mind having one for myself either! 🙂 Good to hear that Emily will be able to stay warm and toasty throughout the winter.

  5. tater03 said

    I loved these things. I used to worry about my son getting cold at night. This product took those worries away. I agree with you a 100% they are the best thing ever.

  6. Ali G said

    Hear hear! We love baby grobags. Tabitha has been using one since she was just a few weeks old and they’re fantastic, particularly now that she’s five months and much more mobile.

    Of course, being a neurotic first-time mum, I then started to worry that she’d have trouble switching back to blankets, so I’m re-introducing those for her daytime naps. Amazingly, she seems quite happy and – so far – hasn’t kicked them off at all!

    Bravo on the blog, btw – great stuff!

Leave a Reply

 
