Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

It’s in the bag….

Posted by Caroline on October 18, 2006

Have you remembered everything, Mummy?Before I became a parent, going out was as simple as breathing – I simply picked up my handbag and off I went. These days, of course, it’s a very different story. Going out with Emily involves taking along everything we’re likely to need in the way of nappies, toys, blankets, muslins and assorted paraphernalia – half of which we never actually use.

For the past four months our every outing has been accompanied by a changing bag the size of a small planet – until I realised the other day that most of the stuff in the bag is not only unused, but actually pointless.

Was Emily really likely, for example, to need the little frilly green shoes she wore on Jewish New Year with her best dress? Was the can of Magicool water spray, that has sat redundantly in the bag since the first time we packed it up, really necessary? And what exactly was I doing carting round a huge Ziploc full of bodysuits, all of which were now far too small for her anyway? Emily hasn’t needed a change of outfit in a public place since she was about seven weeks old, and even if she did I’d dress her in something a bit more substantial than a newborn bodysuit.

Once I’d removed everything I needed from the bag, it was surprising how much smaller and lighter it was, thus debunking the myth that you need to take everything bar the kitchen sink with you when out and about with a baby.

Baggage aside though, getting ready and going out with a baby has actually proven far simpler than I thought it would be. For one thing, we always keep the changing bag packed and ready so it can be grabbed as quickly as a handbag, for another I always plan Emily’s routine (feeds, washing, dressing, etc.) around planned outings so that I can ensure she is ready when it’s time to leave.

Of course, there has been the odd occasion when she’s brought milk up on her top, or needs a last-minute nappy change, but more often than not she’s quicker at getting ready than her parents are. Particularly her mother, whose insistence on matching shoes and bags at all times can make a person far later than any number of unscheduled dirty nappies.

4 Responses to “It’s in the bag….”

  1. tater03 said

    Wow, this is cool that you figured this out with your first child. I didn’t figure this out until I had my second. Which really didn’t help me all that much by then because then I had to pack for an infant and a toddler. But you are so right that a lot of the stuff you won’t ever use.

  2. katharina said

    Emily looks so comfortable in her car seat! And she even matches it… adorable picture!

  3. Melanie said

    I still remember repacking the baby bag and finding all sorts of strange things in it. My sons, who never used those frozen teething rings, had 2 in their baby bag until they were about 2 years old. And the tiny ‘extra outfits’ too! Your post brings a laugh. 🙂

  4. Eldragon said

    Don’t despair – it’s just easier over time! Just think – before you know it she won’t be needing a bottle anymore. She’ll be using a straw within a few months, in fact! Once she’s potty trained – no more diaper bags!

Leave a Reply

 
