Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

Injection Blues

Posted by DINRIL on October 10, 2006

Are we going on a lovely outing Mummy? Er….No sooner had Emily recovered from her cold than it was time for her to return to the doctor for her third set of immunisations. Two months ago, when she had her first set, she was a lot younger and merely spent the remainder of the day sleeping off the effects, but last time she was grumpy and under the weather for a couple of days afterwards.

This is hardly surprising, given the tiny cocktail of unpleasant diseases that were injected into her. Having recalled the way in which my arm swelled up to the size of a small country when I had a typhoid jab a few years back, I can only imagine the whole experience is far worse for a little baby.

The first couple of times we went for jabs, Emily was already a bit crotchety but this time she was in a very good mood – she’d had a nice nap in the car on the way there and was all smiles while the ever-capable Sister Wong got the injections ready.

All of which made it even harder to bear when she was actually given the jabs –and this time around she had three shots instead of two. As well as boosters for the 5 in 1 (for diptheria, tetanus, whooping cough, Hib and polio) and meningitis vaccines, she also had her first pneumococcal vaccine (which protects against a variety of infections). I am still convinced the reason babies scream when on the receiving end of a big needle is because they’re too young to shout, “That HURT! How dare you?” followed by assorted expletives which I couldn’t possibly mention here.

But Emily was her usual brave self and was all smiles and coos once again by the time we got back out to the waiting room (this being the wonderful thing about babies – anything traumatic is usually forgotten within about five minutes). Last time she had jabs it took a day or so for the side-effects to become apparent but this time around they appeared to come very quickly – she was extremely grumpy all afternoon and only calmed down after a dose of Calpol and a sizeable amount of milk.

 I’m not expecting her to sleep through the night tonight (she didn’t after the first two doses) but at least her cold last week has given us a better idea of how to cope when our little one is feeling unwell in the small hours. Still, she should count herself lucky. Having three injections in one day may not be anybody’s idea of fun, but if we were living in the US she would have had four today.

Of course we jollied her along, applauding after she made it through each jab, but it’s still a pretty traumatic process. I’d have thought having needles shoved into my arm on a regular basis during my pregnancy (blood test, triple test, gestational diabetes test, and assorted IV lines, from which I still bear the scars) would have made me immune to this kind of thing, but of course when the injections are being administered to your child rather than you it’s a whole different story.

Anyway, she is back in December for her second pneumococcal jab, but the good news is we get a month off next month. And I’m sure Emily’s not complaining.

6 Responses to “Injection Blues”

  1. tater03 said

    I used to cry myself when I would have to hold my sons down so they could get their shots. I was never so glad when these shots were done.

  2. Eldragon said

    It’s all for the cause. Think of all the terrible diseases you are eliminating from Emily’s future.

  3. Melos said

    What the poor little babies have to get put through, huh? The beginning of the “it’s for your own good” mantra that will follow them through their lives. 🙂

  4. tater03 said

    Checked back to see how her night was last night? Hopefully good.

  5. Fortunately for her (and us!) she had a very good night last night – slept until 5.45am when she woke up for a feed! She has been much better today – a bit tired still, but generally very happy and smiley.

  6. katharina said

    I *so* remember the horror of those vaccines when I needed to take my daughter for them. It just wore me out, and then they always had to tell me and hand papers to me about what the side effect could be. (Everything comes with disclaimers, unfortunately).

    That is *awesome* that Emily had a good night after the jabs! What a brave little girl! (I’m sure I wouldn’t have slept so well after all that poking!)

Leave a Reply

 
