Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

Pocket Patrol

Posted by Caroline on September 29, 2006

Spot the pockets….Of all the unanswered questions I have about babies (and believe me there are many), one stands out – why oh why do babies’ clothes have pockets?? A few weeks ago I dressed Emily in a pair of dungarees which, for all their cuteness, were notable for the fact they were covered in pockets. As well as having them by her sides, there was also a pocket on the front and back.

Since then an investigation of her wardrobe has revealed pockets in her jeans, all of her trousers, several of her shirts and even some of the romper suits she wears in bed. And I’m forced to ask – what on earth are they for? To stick her hands in when she’s a bit bored (they tend to go in her mouth anyway)? Because she needs somewhere to keep her door keys or loose change? Frankly I’m baffled…..

5 Responses to “Pocket Patrol”

  1. liza said

    Wait until she is a bit older. The purpose will become quite clear – they are for her to stick little bits of everything in – dirt, sand, rocks, toys, fuzz, leaves…..

  2. katharina said

    I’m smiling after I actually giggled aloud. You’re right and I never took a moment to wonder why! 🙂 It would be cute if the babies would put their little hands into the pockets, but they don’t. Might be a good question to pose to the manufacturers?
    🙂

  3. Eldragon said

    Good observation! I guess clothing makers want baby clothes to resemble regular clothing – and put the pockets in for that purpose. Also – babies really do not need shoes – but there are many style and designs to choose from!

    Your baby is so sweet. My girls are 9 and 17 and I really treasure the memories of them as babies.

  4. tater03 said

    Good question. I have never really thought of that before. But your right they do have alot of pockets on their clothes. Something to ponder on.

  5. sbarber77 said

    I’m guessing that manufacturers want even the littlest of children to be fashion consious. So much easier to market to them late on….

Leave a Reply

 
