Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

Romper Stomper

Posted by DINRIL on September 25, 2006

Doesn’t she look cute?It seems that at the tender age of three months, my daughter is already being picky about her clothes. Last week I dressed Emily in a pink, candy striped romper suit, one of the many bargains we picked up in the Baby Gap sale when she was just a few weeks old. Of course I thought she looked beautiful – with the frills at the back of the suit adding to the overall effect – but she was none too happy about it.

Having left her in the care of her daddy while I attended to my own sartorial needs, I returned to the living-room about 20 minutes later to find her staring at me with a look of suspicion and contempt. It was a look that said, “Mother, why have you dressed me in this ridiculous outfit? I look like a tiny circus clown and you know it.”

For her finale, she proceeded to fill her nappy, and while I was changing her I said, “Emily, is this nappy a reaction to the outfit or something?” She looked at me and gave me a huge smile by way of reply…

4 Responses to “Romper Stomper”

  1. Jane said

    Don’t we all dress up our children for our own amusement from time to time?

  2. Melos said

    This is hilarious! And they really seem to care. When my son was young, there was a particular blue striped shirt that made him scream every time I tried to put it on him. I guess he just didn’t like it!

  3. katharina said

    🙂 I enjoyed reading this… it made me smile. And I couldn’t help but want to mention that when she’s ready for school, it will be like this again, only a *whole* lot worse!

  4. katharina said

    I came back to some of your older posts this morning to see how Emily’s looks have changed. My goodness, she is growing so fast! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
