Only little babies do that…

a blog by Emily\’s mother

Just a Tad excited

Posted by DINRIL on September 24, 2006

Emily’s New best friend?After eight years of wedded bliss and of cooing over other people’s babies rather than producing one of our own, my husband and myself finally became parents in June when our daughter Emily – or to give her her full name, Emily Rebecca Lena – was born.

The little lady came into the world on June 7 and has spent the past three months doing what babies do – namely eating, sleeping, cooing, wriggling and generally charming everybody she meets.

By way of introduction, my name is Caroline Westbrook and I’m a freelance journalist and writer living in West London. As the above might suggest, I recently put the career on hold in favour of raising a small baby (something which has left me all too familiar with dawn choruses and daytime TV), but can’t think of a better way to get back into writing than by sharing my family adventures with the world…..

My husband rang me on the way home from work the other week in a state of high excitement, saying he had bought Emily a new toy – which, by all accounts, sounded like the most amazing invention in the world. Baby Tad, he said , sang songs, played lullabies and offered all manner of other ways to keep a small baby entertained. What he failed to mention was what Baby Tad actually looked like, hence my shock when he arrived home with a giant bright green frog that resembled Kermit on steroids, and was almost as big as our daughter. Its face proved to be the most disconcerting however – with its big wide smile and huge eyes, it brought to mind the kind of toy that comes to life in horror movies, the sort you can imagine stumbling into the bedroom at 2am on its little fuzzy legs, clutching your best breadknife while giving throaty demonic chuckles. To add to my fear, the instruction manual included advice on what to do if the toy ‘makes improper responses or starts acting erratically’. I was unsure how helpful their suggestion of removing the batteries might be if its head started spinning in the manner of Linda Blair from the Exorcist or it started impersonating that episode of the Simpsons with the killer Krusty The Klown doll.

Being a laid-back kind of child, Emily’s reaction to the new arrival was to touch its foot and then try to eat it before she eventually pushed it over – meaning thus far Mummy and Daddy have had more fun pushing the buttons and playing the nursery rhymes than she has. My fear of it only increased later that night when, after Emily had had her night feed and gone back to sleep (at around 4am), I had a headache and went into the living-room to retrieve my painkillers from my handbag. To be faced with the sight of Tad staring at me and apparently glowing in the dark. Needless to say I was none too pleased when hubby went to work the next day, leaving the two of us alone in the flat with it, but happily we survived to tell the tale.

My opinion of it rapidly changed, however, when a week later we were having a difficult night with the little ‘un. While Emily normally goes to bed without much fuss, she’d just had her second set of jabs and wasn’t feeling too good – and on this particular evening, getting her to go to sleep was proving impossible, despite all the feeding, cuddling, rocking and singing we could muster. Eventually, at around 10pm, we came up with the idea of switching on Tad’s lullabies and leaving it in her room. Within 10 minutes she had fallen asleep and didn’t wake up again until 5am!

So I take back everything I said about Tad. It is officially marvellous. But I’m still convinced that it’s out to get me.

6 Responses to “Just a Tad excited”

  1. Debbie said

    I read some of the reviews of Tad on Amazon and some people say it was quite scary to give to a child. But after reading your delightful encounter with Tad, looks like there is nothing wrong with the creature.

    After all, there are probably some relatives who are much more scary to look at 🙂

    In the States you can buy Tad talking in either English or Spanish.

    Would love to see Tad talking Japanese, that would be fun.

  2. Lisa said

    I bought Tad for my little one and he just loves it. A very good choice to give to a baby and for us parents a wonderful present too as the six minute night, night countdown has been getting my little one to go to sleep.

  3. Jill said

    Really like your blog Caroline and can certainly relate to several of your experiences.

  4. katharina said

    You just gave me a fabulous idea for a Christmas gift I’ll need to buy! Tad looks like a great toy for little ones.

  5. tater03 said

    Congrats on the baby. Enjoy they grow up quickly. You will definetly get alot of topics for your writing with having a baby around. There’s always something new that they are doing.

  6. Lizakollman said

    I can relate as well, because my fiance and I are attempting to hold off on getting pregnant long enough to get married! We can’t wait, so for the meantime this is a great way to live vicariously!

Leave a Reply

 
